Peanut Butter and Karo Syrup

When I was a kid growing up, money was tight. We weren’t as bad off as some kids, but we did tend to do a lot of homemade snacks. I was thinking back on this when I tried the new Cadbury Peanut Butter Egg. The idea seems to be a mix of the classic Cadbury Egg, but with peanut butter added. When I bit into the chocolate shell and tasted the peanut butter and Cadbury “yolk” filling, I was immediately taken back to one of my mom’s greatest concoctions, at least in the eyes of a child. Mom used to mix peanut butter and Karo syrup together as a snack. I loved it. It was one of the trifecta of peanut butter snacks that a child could easily fix. The other two were peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and peanut butter and marshmallow creme (also usually served as a sandwich).

Peanut butter and Karo syrup was a go to snack for me for most of my childhood, and it was simplicity in itself. Take some peanut butter. Put it in a bowl. Add some Karo syrup, but not too much. Stir the two together and enjoy. The Cadbury Peanut Butter Egg brought back this long forgotten memory as the center of the egg tastes almost exactly like Mom’s peanut butter and Karo syrup did. The only problem is that the Cadbury product tastes like the peanut butter and Karo syrup snack where someone added a little too much Karo syrup. It was extremely sweet.

I’m trying to write down and share things like this as I remember them because these are things being lost to the dust bins of time. My son has heard me talk about the great toys from my childhood and some of the things that we used to do, but much of what life was like I have forgotten to tell him. He might remember me talking about having to wait years for a movie to finally come on TV, but have I ever properly explained Top Value stamps? Oh well at least he’ll have my blog if he ever gets curious about the old days when TVs had 3 channels, gas was well under $1 a gallon, there were no drive thru restaurants, and almost everything was shut down on Sunday. And now if he wants he can even try out one of our old budget snack recipes.

6 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Karo Syrup

  1. Lois Ann

    I have always eaten peanut butter and white syrup on pancakes. My mother did it, so now I do. Trying to find out where this originated. My mother has since passed and it’s one of those things I never got around to asking her about.

    Reply
  2. Linda

    In school we were served peanut butter bars. They had some sort of cereal in them. It seemed like cornflakes but they were crushed up and were only a small amount. They seemed to be rolled out and cut out with a cookie cutter. I loved them and would bargain with other kids for theirs. I have searched for that recipient on line to no avail. Does anyone know what I’m talking about and can you help me in my quest?

    Reply
    1. Msbratsblog.com

      It is cornflakes and if you look on line put in peanut butter and cornflakes. I grew up eating those too and my kids love them. It is just peanut butter, cornflakes and karo syrup. I think that is it. I have nit made them in awhile. My grandma use to scoop a little heap of it out and put it on wax paper. If you want the recipe I have you can go to my blog and send me a message because I have not posted it yet. Ms brat’s blog.com

      Reply
  3. flyeagles76

    “Peanut Butter on the plate” is what we called it and my daughter loves it. I still eat it from time to time. Guilty pleasure… lol

    Reply
  4. Msbratsblog.com

    I grew up eating the same thing! My mom and me used to eat that a lot. I grew up in Illinois and when I do bring it up to other friends from other states they look at me like I am crazy. I am glad to know I wasn’t the only one. When we moved to Kansas and my youngest son at the time told me I had to make him a flutter butter sandwich because that’s what all the cool kids ate. This was in first grade. Thanks for sharing! msbratsblog.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

