When I Used to Get Sick

I have been struggling with the flu for the last few days. It hit me late Wednesday night or technically early Thursday morning. At first I didn’t know it was the flu. My doctor had just changed my medicines and I was sure that was it. Or maybe it was something I ate. I had eaten some of Lays new Sriracha flavored chips and surely that was the culprit if not the meds. I checked my blood sugar and it was up. That had to be the answer. My diabetes was making me vomit my insides out. My wife being much calmer and well-reasoned, stuck a thermometer in my mouth and informed me that I had a temperature of 100 degrees. You don’t get a fever with high sugar, bad food, or new medicines. You get a fever with a virus.

When I was a kid the thought of getting sick didn’t bother me. If I was too sick to go to school, Mom called and told them I wouldn’t be there. If I needed to go to the doctor, Mom bundled me up and drove me to the doctor. If I stayed at home, Mom would fix me foods that my stomach would handle and that would comfort me. Usually this was toast with butter, or after I got to feeling a little better, peanut butter. One food that I always wanted when I was sick and that no one could understand why I would want was pizza. Not just any pizza, Geno’s frozen pizza or any of the other rather bland frozen pizzas on a crust that doesn’t so much pass for a bread product, but as an edible form of cardboard. She would top this off with 7-Up, ginger ale, or Coke. I got a lot of Coke over crushed ice also.

If Mom did have to take me to the doctor’s office, she would usually pick me up a few comic books to read on the way home, and I could usually get her to buy me a model kit as well. The model kit would give me something to do and take my mind off of my sick tummy. At least that’s what it was supposed to do. Often times I would get frustrated when certain parts didn’t fit together properly and it would backfire by making me more upset and agitated.

As an adult I can be on my deathbed and I still have to call in to work and tell them I won’t be there. I don’t feel like breathing, but I have to go through a 10,000 question automated system to alert work that I’m not coming in. Oh and if you do that three times in a 90 day period there will be severe consequences (unless they are FMLA covered). I do have a wonderful wife that always pulls through for me when I get hit by the flu bug. She fixes me food and makes sure I stay hydrated. But my body has decided that it no longer wants cardboard pizza on a sick stomach. Baked chicken and baked potatoes all just lightly seasoned tends to stay down best now.

Needless to say the treat of getting a comic book or a model kit for being a good boy at the doctor’s office doesn’t happen anymore either. For one thing, I would have to buy them for myself since I’m also the one that would end up driving myself to the doctor’s office (unless I’m really bad and we have to try and catch my son before he goes to work). And also because neither comic books or model kits are as easy to find (or as cheap) as they were back in the late sixties/early seventies.

I’m not sure who in their right mind gets nostalgic for the sick days of their youth, but compared to the sick days of adulthood, I’d trade for them in a heartbeat.

4 thoughts on “When I Used to Get Sick

  1. crazeekris

    My sentiments as well when I get sick now that I’m grown up. When I started working, I moved to my own place, and decided to live independently. It was all good, until these kind of stuff happened. Imagine the pain of getting sick, then you have to do everything on your own.

    I can relate with calling work to inform them that you can’t make it. You’re too sick to talk yet they will ask tons and tons of questions. Also the thing about doctors? You have to go there on your own even if standing feels like a battle already. Hahaha.

    Nice post, btw! I enjoyed reading this. Nostalgia it is.

    Reply
  2. mrsdeboots

    This is something I never thought about as a kid. You always want to grow up, for whatever reason, but you never think about who would take care of you when you are sick.

    I miss crushed ice, peanut butter/butter toast (still crave it today the second I feel slightly ill) and just the ability to fricking REST, without kids/husband/work or other assorted responsibilities.

    Reply
  3. Lynn Daue

    Oh, man, I’d trade sick-kid days for sick-adult days any day. When I was a kid, I could lay in bed all day with minor interruptions for food, liquids, and temperature checks. Now, I have to put the TV on all day to amuse the kids while I shuffle around in my husband’s robe and make my own soup. Being sick as an adult sucks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

