I Miss Those Old Songs

I like a lot of different music. I always joke about the fact that my CD collection had Garth Brooks and The Butthole Surfers on the same shelf. A guy singing Elvis songs in Latin shares space with a cd of rock classics sung in “chant” format and a chant album done in oinks and pig latin. There is also a huge section of compilation cds featuring song hits from the 1970s. And there are plenty of more mainstream choices as well, Nickelback, AC/DC, Ozzy, Brad Paisley, David Allen Coe, Halestorm, Ice-T and Body Count, Nas, and plenty of others. About the only thing I don’t have represented is Gospel (other than an Elvis and a Johnny Cash gospel cd) and Polka (and even Polka gets a nod thanks to Weird Al Yankovic).

I listen to one of the local classic rock stations (FM 105) that also plays current rock except for late at night when I’m driving home and I switch to talk radio with Mike Savage and Coast-to-Coast AM. Even though I don’t usually agree with Mr. Savage’s political views, I still find him more entertaining than a lot of his competitors, especially when he drops the politics and tells stories about his life and travels.

I used to listen to Jack FM which was a hodgepodge similar to my cd collection. I also used to listen to the X which was a heavy metal/hard rock/alternative station that switched formats and became a FOX News station. The station I miss the most is WKAZ which played the hits of the 70s. The best part was that on Sundays they played the old American Top 40 shows from those years. These were the songs I grew up on. Mostly they played the well-remembered hits, but every once in a blue moon they would slip in Troglodyte by Jimmy Castor or My Girl Bill by Jim Stafford. The old Top 40 shows would play all the hits for a particular week, so you got a lot of one hit wonders and songs that had dropped out of the general consciousness. When’s the last time Donnie and Marie’s Deep Purple Dream was on the radio?

My wife and I made it a game on Sundays. We would flip on Casey Kasem when we got in the car, and try and guess what the year was by the songs he was playing. At the top of the hour they would always announce the year, so we always had less than 60 minutes to reach our conclusion based on songs that were just entering or exiting the countdown.

I also remember as a kid going to National Record Mart, Arlens, Hecks, Kmart, and G.C.Murphy and buying 45s with my favorite songs. When vinyl was replaced by cassettes and later cds, the singles didn’t seem as desirable. There were a few cd singles that actually included songs or versions of songs that were left off of the albums. That’s how I knew the words to the gory version of The Night Santa Went Crazy and heard the uncut acoustic version of You Oughta Know.

WKAZ changed formats to become another classic rock station. It resurfaced later as an oldies station concentrating more on the songs of the 50s and 60s. Also the signal was nowhere near as strong. What’s really funny to me is that WKAZ AM 94.5 was the rock and roll/pop station back when I was a kid listening to music in the 1970s. I remember hearing Harry Nilson’s Coconut on there for the first time and enjoying Me and Julio Down By The School Yard in heavy rotation. I even remember the name of my favorite DJ, Frank George. I had his autograph for years. It may still be in some of my junk we haven’t gone through.

Sure I could put on my cds and recreate all the music from that time. I could even haul out my 45s and listen to Convention ’72 by The Delegates or Mr. Jaws by Dickie Goodman or Clap For The Wolfman or Dead Skunk in the Middle of the Road, but I’d much rather hear them on my radio with a dj introducing them in all their cheesy glory. I might enjoy listening to Bitch Came Back by Theory of a Deadman or Ain’t No Rest For The Wicked by Cage the Elephant, but none of them hold a place in my heart like the Star Wars Theme by Meco and the songs about stinky roadkill, horny cavemen, and a huge garden party. Of course another favorite was that song my 12-year-old mind thought was about watching a fireworks show with your girlfriend in the middle of the day, Afternoon Delight. Oh to be that naive once again.

One thought on “I Miss Those Old Songs

  1. Pingback: This is how cool San Francisco USED to be! Boy those days were GOOD!! | bluepearlgirl's world

Leave a Reply

