I Remember The Silmarillion

One thing I loved as a kid was books. Even when I was a toddler, I would want my mom to buy me books more than toys. One of my favorites was a book called “I Have A Turtle”.

Two sentences long, but a lifetime of joy... (dot dot dot)

Two sentences long, but a lifetime of joy… (dot dot dot)


I Have A Turtle told the story of a little boy who had a pet turtle that he kept in a hat box under his bed. Actually that sentence is almost the entire first half of the book. The book is, in fact, only two sentences long. What the author did to stretch it out was to break up those two sentences into several prepositional phrases that continued from page to page with the use of ellipsis, the three periods.

When my family would read me this book, they would always make me giggle by reading the three periods as well. So the book would start out “I have a turtle, dot, dot, dot”. I loved those “dot, dot, dots” at the end of nearly every page, and I could never imagine reading the book any other way.

As I got older I was able to read by myself and I latched onto a few new books like Dragon In Danger, Green Smoke, The Enormous Egg, Yours Till Niagara Falls, and the works of Judy Blume. These titles filled my grade school days with smiles and amazement. As I entered Junior High I discovered Conan of Aquilonia on the newsstand and quickly picked it up and read it followed by all of the other Robert E. Howard books that I could get my hands on. I tried Edgar Rice Burroughs’ Tarzan and John Carter of Mars series, and of course I picked up Forever by Judy Blume as well. I also worked my way through a couple best sellers; Jaws and The Exorcist. Toward the end of Junior High I, like all of my friends, picked up The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. I devoured The Hobbit, but never got started on the trilogy for some reason. It was around this time that a new book hit the market, a sequel to the Middle-Earth classics. This book was The Silmarillion.
imagesCA9G2NMP
I distinctly remember getting the paperback version of this book for Christmas along with Monty Python and the Holy Grail The Book, Monty Python’s Big Red Book, and Saturday Night Live. I read the two Python books as well as the SNL book, but I never did get started on The Silmarillion. Several other friends got The Silmarillion as well, and the ones that started reading it all gave up on it. To this day my paperback copy sits on a shelf in my home library unread. Of course being the compulsive collector that I am, I also now have the hardcover copy as well and it is equally as unread by me.

Leave a Reply

