Losing My Mind

People say it all the time, “I’m losing my mind.” Usually they only mean they have done something slightly silly. Usually it’s related to forgetfulness. The problem is, how do you get someone to believe you when you really do start losing your mind?

I’ve noticed myself forgetting stuff much more frequently lately. This is another reason for this blog. It forces me to remember, and it puts it down where I can refer back to it if I need to. So let’s examine the memory loss.

The most obvious signs for me are forgetting people’s names and my diminishing vocabulary. Everybody forgets someone’s name at one point or another, but with me it has now gotten to where I will blank out on the name of people who I work with. I work with them on a daily basis and have known them for seven years in many cases. Yet last night I totally lost this one lady’s name into the recesses of my mind. After a few moments, I was able to pull up her last name, but had only a vague idea about what the first letter of her first name might be. It was a couple of hours later before it finally came back to me. I recently found an old phone list and couldn’t remember half the people on it. If there was only a first or last name listed, I couldn’t supply the missing name to save my life. Keep in mind that these were people I knew well enough to have gotten their phone numbers and that I was likely enough to have a need to call that I would have taken the time to write their name and number down on a list that I carried with me.

The diminishing vocabulary is something that also bothers me, especially when I am trying to write. I used to write quite a bit. I have a complete script I wrote shortly after high school as well as numerous novels I began and never completed. I also have a script I worked on with a couple of friends and a half-dozen or so additional pieces that I worked on solo up until about the early 2000s. I had a large enough vocabulary that I had little trouble writing these pieces and making each character’s voice sound unique to them. I had the ability to always pick just the exact right word. These days I often have trouble remembering the name for that small furry creature that goes meow and likes to climb the drapes.

So the question is, am I actually losing my mind and did so many people jokingly use that phrase to the point that I now sound like the boy who cried wolf?

Leave a Reply

